iIPC Jobs

Closure at OK Mart small and medium enterprise complex, Bulawayo

A workplace stops operating, is placed on care and maintenance, or resumes operating after a period of closure.

reported

What happened, in plain words

About sixty small traders inside a shared retail complex in Bulawayo stopped trading when the complex itself closed. Each of those traders is a business rather than a single job, and most of them employ one or two other people, so the real number of people affected is unknown. The closure matters because shared complexes of this kind are how many Zimbabweans enter formal trading. When one closes, the ladder into formal work is pulled away from a whole group of traders at once.

Not stated

People reported

The source did not give a countable number, so none is shown

1 July 2026

Date of the event

medium

Confidence in the record

How the number was arrived at

Sixty micro enterprises are reported to have stopped trading after the complex closed. The number of people who lost work is not stated, so no count is recorded.

Evidence

FieldValue
SourceZimEye
Linkhttps://www.zimeye.net/2026/07/16/60-bulawayo-businesses-close/
Source last opened by the platformNever checked
Evidence retrieved20 August 2026
Fingerprint of the source pageNot taken. The page has not been read successfully.
Published by the source on16 July 2026
EmployerOK Mart small and medium enterprise complex, Bulawayo
SectorRetail & Wholesale
WhereBulawayo, Bulawayo
Status on this platformreported
Counted in published figuresNo

The count of sixty refers to businesses and not to workers. It must never be read as a job loss figure. The source does not give the exact closing date, so the first of the month is used.

The rule this record had to meet

A workplace stops operating, is placed on care and maintenance, or resumes operating after a period of closure.

Evidence required: The name of the site and the operator, the date operations stopped or resumed, and a statement from the operator, a landlord, a local authority or an established publication.

Read thisWorkforce events are a record of what a named and citable source reported. They are not a census of job losses or job creation in Zimbabwe. Many changes in employment are never announced, and small employers are almost never reported at all, so the picture here leans towards large employers, listed companies, the public service and unionised sectors. Read the evidence link on any event before relying on it.

As at 5 Oct 2026, 14:38. Method version unknown.